Sutherland named in ICC ODI Team of the Year

Stars all-rounder Annabel Sutherland has been named in the ICC ODI Team of the Year.

The team was announced last week as part of the annual ICC Awards.


Chamari Athapaththu leads the side once more, which features a number of performers from last year's ICC Women's T20 World Cup in South Africa. Beth Mooney keeps the wickets at the top, whereas Laura Wolvaardt and Hayley Matthews fill in at numbers three and four.

The Team

Chamari Athapaththu (C)
Beth Mooney (WK)
Laura Wolvaardt
Hayley Matthews
Nat Sciver-Brunt
Amelia Kerr
Ellyse Perry
Ash Gardner
Deepti Sharma
Sophie Ecclestone
Megan Schutt

Annabel Sutherland (Australia)

Tough lower-order runs and some crucial wickets with the ball saw Annabel Sutherland catapult herself into the Women’s ODI Team of the Year.

While her 47-ball 50 from No.7 in Southampton was crucial to Australia winning by three runs, her most impressive knock in the year came as opener.

Opening the batting for the first time in her ODI career against Ireland, Sutherland hit a century, her maiden one in ODIs. With the ball, she took 13 wickets in as many games, bowling at an economy rate under five runs per over. Her best came in Melbourne at the start of the year against the Windies, when she took 3-6 in five overs in a rain-affected match.

Notably, she also took 10 catches as an outfielder.

Principal Partner

Official Partners