Wesbter and Steketee named in PM's XI

Two Stars have been selected in the PM's XI match set to take place in December.

Prime Minister Anthony Albanese and Cricket Australia’s National Selection Panel (NSP) have named the men’s squad for the Prime Minister’s XI match against Pakistan in Canberra.

South Australian batter Nathan McSweeney will captain a strong squad which features six players with experience at Test level.

Cameron Bancroft (505 runs), Beau Webster (487) and McSweeney (456) are the current leading Marsh Sheffield Shield run scorers, while Queensland quicks Mark Steketee and Michael Neser combined for 78 wickets last season.  

The four-day fixture against the Pakistan begins on Wednesday, 6 December at Manuka Oval.

It means Webster and new recruit Steketee will miss the Stars' opening fixture on 7th Decmber against the Brisbane Heat.

Prime Minister’s XI squad:

Nathan McSweeney (c) (SA - Glenelg Cricket Club)

Cameron Bancroft (WA - Willetton Premier Cricket Club)

Cameron Green (WA - Subiaco Floreat Cricket Club)

Marcus Harris (VIC - St Kilda Cricket Club)

Nathan McAndrew (SA - Woodville District Cricket Club)

Todd Murphy (VIC - St Kilda Cricket Club)

Michael Neser (QLD - Gold Coast District Cricket Club)

Jimmy Peirson (QLD - Redlands Cricket Club)

Matthew Renshaw (QLD - Toombul District Cricket Club)

Mark Steketee (QLD - Valley District Cricket Club)

Beau Webster (TAS - Kingborough District Cricket Club)


Principal Partner

Official Partners