Stars take centre stage in the WPL

A number of past and present Stars will take centre stage in the Women's Premier League tomorrow.

The competition will enter its second season tomorrow morning Melbourne time as the Mumbai Indians host the Delhi Capitals in Bangalore, which will host the first 11 games of the tournament.

Last year, Stars Captain Meg Lanning was the leading runs scorer so let's take a look at which Stars (past and present) are going to lining up in season 2.

Meg Lanning (Delhi Capitals)

The Stars Captain led the Capitals last year and enjoyed an outstanding season, leading them all the way to the final where they fell just short.

Annabel Sutherland (Delhi Capitals)

Fresh off a second test hundred, Sutherland will quickly switch into T20 mode after she was among the most expensive players picked up in last year's auction. Sutherland makes the move from Gujarat Giants who released her at the end of last season.

Jemi Rodrigues (Delhi Capitals)

The first ever Indian to play for the Melbourne Stars, Rodrigues was selected as one of the most expensive domestic players in the inaugural draft. She was one of the standout performers for India in their recent ODI series against Australia.

Alice Capsey (Delhi Capitals)

Capsey finds herself at the Capitals with plenty of familiar faces from the last few Stars season. She will be looking for another strong season after having the second highest strike rate among the top 20 run scorers in the first WPL.

Nat Sciver-Brunt (Mumbai Indians)

Second only with the bat to Meg Lanning in terms of total runs, she was also 8th for total wickets, proving she is in the top couple of all rounders in the women's game.

Jonathan Batty (Delhi Capitals Coach) 

Batty will resume with the Capitals for the second straight season, having taken them to a final last year. He will have plenty of familiar faces as he looks to go one better in 2024.

Principal Partner

Official Partners