WBBL|07 Fixture Released | Melbourne Stars - BBL
Cricket network logo


WBBL|07 Fixture Released

08 July 2021

The Melbourne Stars will play in front of their home fans for the first time in nearly 700 days when this year’s WBBL season gets underway in October.

Members and fans from across the state will have six opportunities to see Meg Lanning’s side in action with two matches scheduled for the CitiPower Centre in St Kilda and four additional matches to be confirmed for other venues in regional Victoria.

The Stars begin their campaign with the opening match of the tournament against the Sydney Sixers at North Sydney Oval on October 14.

The schedule will take the Stars to Sydney, Launceston, Gold Coast and Adelaide during the season.

Melbourne Stars captain Meg Lanning said she was looking forward to seeing fans in green again.

“It’s exciting to see the fixtures finally unveiled for what will be another fantastic edition of the WBBL. I think one of the most exciting things for us as players is the potential to have crowds back and especially for our fans in Melbourne. We really want to perform well and hopefully take that last step that we missed out on in last season’s final,” Lanning said.

The Stars will have six of their 14 matches broadcast on the Seven Network and simulcast on Foxtel. A further four matches will be exclusively broadcasted by Foxtel. Melbourne Stars Interim General Manager Blair Crouch said the fixture set up well for the club.

“We’re excited to get underway in October under direction of new Head Coach Jarrad Loughman and I know the hunger exists to go one better and lift the trophy this season,” Crouch said.

“From a broadcast perspective it’s really pleasing to now have 80% of all league matches televised - bringing more people to the WBBL than ever before. We also expect to confirm venues for the outstanding matches in our fixture in the weeks ahead.”

Melbourne Stars WBBL|07 Fixture
14 October – Sydney Sixers v Melbourne Stars (North Sydney Oval, NSW)
19 October – Melbourne Stars v Sydney Sixers (Blacktown International Sportspark, NSW)
23 October – Melbourne Stars v Brisbane Heat (Venue TBC)
24 October – Melbourne Stars v Hobart Hurricanes (Venue TBC)
26 October – Melbourne Stars v Adelaide Strikers (University of Tasmania Stadium, TAS)
27 October – Hobart Hurricanes v Melbourne Stars (University of Tasmania Stadium, TAS)
30 October – Sydney Thunder v Melbourne Stars (Metricon Stadium, QLD)
31 October – Brisbane Heat v Melbourne Stars (Metricon Stadium, QLD)
6 November – Melbourne Stars v Sydney Thunder (CitiPower Centre, VIC)
7 November – Melbourne Stars v Melbourne Renegades (CitiPower Centre, VIC)
13 November – Melbourne Stars v Perth Scorchers (Venue TBC)
14 November – Melbourne Renegades v Melbourne Stars (Venue TBC)
20 November – Perth Scorchers v Melbourne Stars (Karen Rolton Oval, SA)
21 November – Adelaide Strikers v Melbourne Stars (Karen Rolton Oval, SA)

Filed Under

Melbourne Stars Men