WBBL|07 finals format revamped | Melbourne Stars - BBL
Cricket network logo


WBBL|07 finals format revamped

08 September 2021

A new finals format has been introduced for the seventh edition of the Women’s Big Bash League.

The prize for finishing on top of the table is better than ever – with the minor premier earning the right to host The Final on Saturday 27 November.

Cricket Australia confirmed details for the new finals series on Tuesday night, as they also revealed a new naming rights sponsor – Weber Barbecues – for Weber WBBL|07. The new format means the top team at the conclusion of the 56-game regular season will only need one more win to take home the title.

Teams who finish in second to fourth place on the ladder will play off for the right to reach The Final.

The Melbourne Stars finished on top of the ladder in WBBL|06 with eight wins from 14 matches before finishing runners up to the Sydney Thunder.

“The new Weber WBBL|07 Finals format adds more incentive than ever to finishing on top of the table after the 56-game regular season,” CA’s GM of Big Bash Leagues, Alistair Dobson, said.

“Not only will teams have a guaranteed path to The Final, they’ll also have the backing of a strong home crowd, with fans given more time to secure their ticket to the Final.

“The League views The Final as a marquee moment in the summer of Big Bash and we look forward to creating an unmissable event to cap the Weber WBBL|07 season.”

The teams that finish third and fourth will play off in The Eliminator on Wednesday 24 November.

Up next is The Challenger – between the team that finishes second and the winner of The Eliminator – on Thursday 25 November, with the winner of that clash progressing to The Final.

Both The Eliminator and The Challenger will be played at the home ground of the second-placed team.

*Confirmation of host venues for all Weber WBBL|07 Finals series matches will be subject to state border restrictions, public health conditions and their related impacts.