Stars complete WBBL|05 squad as Martin and Lee sign on | Melbourne Stars - BBL
Cricket network logo

Stars complete WBBL|05 squad as Martin and Lee sign on

03 October 2019

The Melbourne Stars has finalised its Rebel WBBL squad for the upcoming season after confirming its final five signings today.

New Zealander Katey Martin and South African Lizelle Lee will return the Stars along with Victorian Emma Inglis. Youngsters Lucy Cripps and Tess Flintoff have also put pen to paper.

Martin, who has previously been an international replacement player for the Stars, joins the club on a full contract after being the second highest run scorer for New Zealand in last season’s ICC Women’s T20 World Cup.

In total Martin has played 74 T20 internationals, making 773 runs with a top score of 65.

In addition to Martin’s signing, power hitter Lizelle Lee has re-committed to the club after opening WBBL|04 season with a century against the Sydney Sixers at CitiPower Centre.

Melbourne Stars WBBL Head Coach David Hemp said he was delighted to retain the batting experience of Martin and Lee.

“It’s great to secure the signatures of both Katey and Lizelle for the upcoming season. Together with Mignon du Preez, we believe we have three strong international signings who will all bolster our batting stocks,” Hemp said.

“We’re really excited to have Katey on board for the entire season. She’s been great around the group when coming in as a replacement player for the past two seasons so we can’t wait to see what she brings to the table this season.”

After playing with the Stars in WBBL|01 and WBBL|02, Inglis will also return to the club while Cripps and Flintoff have earned their first WBBL contracts.

“We know that Emma is a powerful batter and brings plenty of experience, so we’re pleased to welcome her back to the Stars,” Hemp said.

“Lucy and Tess are both young and talented cricketers coming through the system. Tess recently made her Victorian debut and we’re looking forward to seeing both players grow throughout the competition and learn from the senior playing group.”

The Melbourne Stars will open its WBBL|05 campaign against the Hobart Hurricanes on October 19 and 20 at CitiPower Centre.

Melbourne Stars WBBL|05 squad
Kristen Beams, Lucy Cripps, Mignon du Preez (South Africa), Nicole Faltum, Holly Ferling, Tess Flintoff, Nicola Hancock, Emma Inglis, Alana King, Lizelle Lee (South Africa), Katey Martin (New Zealand), Erin Osborne, Angela Reakes, Annabel Sutherland, Elyse Villani.