Stars set for a season away as revised Weber WBBL|07 schedule released | Melbourne Stars - BBL
Cricket network logo



WEBER WBBL|07

Stars set for a season away as revised Weber WBBL|07 schedule released

07 October 2021

Under the revised schedule, the Stars will headline the first match of the tournament against the Sydney Sixers on Thursday 14 October under lights at Blundstone Arena.

The Stars will play games across two states this year, with the first leg in Tasmania before heading to Adelaide ahead of the series finals.

Whilst this means no home games for the team this year fans will have unprecedented access to watch games with all 59 Weber WBBL matches being televised for the first time.

In WBBL|01, just 10 matches were televised, followed by 12 in WBBL|02 and WBBL|03, 23 in WBBL|04 and WBBL|05 and 36 last season.

This season, Seven will show 24 Weber WBBL|07 matches live, with all 59 matches on Foxtel and Kayo, in addition to coverage on ABC Radio and cricket.com.au giving Stars fans the chance to be involved from afar.

The full squad is scheduled to assemble in Hobart over the weekend to complete their final preparations before the tournament commences.

Melbourne Stars General Manager Blair Crouch said the squad was looking forward to their first game against the Sydney Sixers next week.

“The team have been incredibly flexible and adapted well to the challenges they’ve faced ahead of WBBL 07. We’re excited to get back to playing the sport we love and get off to a strong start against the Sixers next week,” Crouch said.

“Whilst we are disappointed that none of the Stars games will be in Victoria in front of our members and fans, having all games broadcast is unprecedented for the competition. We are grateful for the support from Seven, Foxtel and Kayo and their ongoing commitment to showcasing women’s sport. There is real excitement about getting the tournament up and running and we can’t wait to play for our fans watching back home in Melbourne.”

Earlier this week the Stars confirmed the signings of England’s Linsey Smith and young-gun Maddy Darke the club expects to announce its final WBBL signings in the next week.

WEBER WBBL|07 SCHEDULE


Oct 14: Sydney Sixers v Melbourne Stars, Blundstone Arena
7:40pm AEDT, Seven/Foxtel/Kayo

Oct 19: Melbourne Stars v Hobart Hurricanes, Blundstone Arena
1:25pm AEDTFoxtel/Kayo/cricket.com.au

Oct 20: Melbourne Stars v Sydney Sixers, Blundstone Arena
4:50pm AEDT, Foxtel/Kayo/cricket.com.au

Oct 23: Melbourne Stars v Brisbane Heat
Invermay Park, 2:00pm AEDT, Foxtel/Kayo/cricket.com.au

Oct 26: Melbourne Stars v Sydney Thunder
University of Tasmania Stadium, 1:25pm AEDT, Foxtel/Kayo/cricket.com.au

Oct 27: Hobart Hurricanes v Melbourne Stars
University of Tasmania Stadium, 4:50pm AEDT, Foxtel/Kayo/cricket.com.au

Oct 30: Sydney Thunder v Melbourne Stars
University of Tasmania Stadium, 4:05pm AEDT, Foxtel/Kayo/cricket.com.au

Oct 31: Brisbane Heat v Melbourne Stars
University of Tasmania Stadium, 1:40pm AEDT, Seven/Foxtel/Kayo

Nov 6: Melbourne Stars v Adelaide Strikers
Karen Rolton Oval, 1:10pm ACDT/1:40pm AEDT, Foxtel/Kayo/cricket.com.au

Nov 7: Melbourne Stars v Melbourne Renegades
Adelaide Oval, 1:10pm ACDT/1:40pm AEDT, Seven/Foxtel/Kayo

Nov 10: Melbourne Stars v Perth Scorchers
Karen Rolton Oval, 12:55pm ACDT/1:25pm AEDT, Foxtel/Kayo/cricket.com.au

Nov 11: Melbourne Renegades v Melbourne Stars
Karen Rolton Oval, 4:20pm ACDT/4:50pm AEDT, Foxtel/Kayo/cricket.com.au

Nov 20: Perth Scorchers v Melbourne Stars
Adelaide Oval, 9:45am ACDT/10:15am AEDT, Seven/Foxtel/Kayo

Nov 21: Adelaide Strikers v Melbourne Stars
Adelaide Oval, 1:10pm ACDT/1:40pm AEDT, Seven/Foxtel/Kayo

Finals series: November 24, 25 and 27, teams and venues TBC