Stars name BBL squad for season opener | Melbourne Stars - BBL
Cricket network logo


Stars name BBL squad for season opener

19 December 2017

The Melbourne Stars have named a 13-player squad for tomorrow night's KFC Big Bash League clash with the Brisbane Heat at the Gabba.

New Stars captain John Hastings will lead the side, which also includes boom recruit Ben Dunk.

Not a Stars member? Join Team Green now!

Also included in the squad is Liam Bowe. The left-arm spinner replaces Peter Handscomb on the Melbourne Stars' list, with the right-hander remaining on Australian duties.

The W/BBL Technical Committee approved the change of Bowe for Handscomb, allowing the 20 year-old the opportunity to add to the two BBL matches he played last season.

Under the W/BBL playing conditions for this season, Handscomb will be able to resume his place in the squad should he become available again.

Make sure you tune in to Channel 10 at 7.40pm AEDT tomorrow night (Thursday 20 Dec) and show your support for the boys!

Melbourne Stars squad for KFC BBL match v Brisbane Heat at Gabba - 6.40pm (local time)
John Hastings (captain)
Michael Beer
Scott Boland
Liam Bowe
Ben Dunk
James Faulkner
Seb Gotch
Evan Gulbis
Glenn Maxwell
Kevin Pietersen
Marcus Stoinis
Luke Wright
Adam Zampa

Join Team Green this Christmas! Become a member