Stars name squad to face Perth Scorchers | Melbourne Stars - BBL
Cricket network logo

Stars name squad to face Perth Scorchers

08 January 2019

The Melbourne Stars has made three changes to its 13-player squad ahead of their clash with the Perth Scorchers at the MCG tomorrow.

Nic Maddinson is in line to make his Melbourne Stars debut after recovering from a fractured arm suffered in early December during a JLT Sheffield Shield match, while young Victorian duo Jonathan Merlo and Tom O'Connell have also been named.

Merlo played in the Stars' New Years Day Derby win over the Renegades, while O'Connell (Stars development rookie) has been approved by the W/BBL Technical Committee to replace Adam Zampa in the squad who along with Glenn Maxwell, Peter Handscomb and Marcus Stoinis is with the Australian ODI squad and unavailable for selection in the Stars' next three matches.

O'Connell debuted for Victoria during the 2018 JLT One-Day Cup where the right-arm leg spinner claimed eight wickets in four matches, including best figures of 3-56.<

Nick Larkin has also been approved by the W/BBL Technical Committee to replace Handscomb in the squad having originally been an injury replacement player for Nic Maddinson.

The Stars will announce a new captain at 3:45pm today at a media opportunity at the MCG before aiming for a fourth consecutive win when they face the Perth Scorchers tomorrow.

Melbourne Stars v Perth Scorchers
Wednesday 9 January @ 7:15pm AEDT
MCG, Melbourne
Broadcast: Seven, Fox Cricket

Stars BBL squad v Scorchers

Michael Beer
Jackson Bird
Scott Boland
Liam Bowe
Dwayne Bravo
Ben Dunk
Seb Gotch
Evan Gulbis
Nick Larkin
Nic Maddinson
Jonathan Merlo
Tom O'Connell
Liam Plunkett