Quartet named in Champions Trophy squad | Melbourne Stars - BBL
Cricket network logo

Quartet named in Champions Trophy squad

21 April 2017

Four Stars have been named in Australia’s squad for the ICC Champions Trophy being held in England and Wales this June.

Glenn Maxwell, John Hastings, Marcus Stoinis and Adam Zampa have all been included in Australia's 15-player squad.

Maxwell, Stoinis and Zampa are all currently in India for the Indian Premier League (IPL) while Hastings is playing county cricket in England.

Captaining the Kings XI Punjab, Maxwell has scored 162 runs in six matches which includes a high score of an unbeaten 44.

Leg-spinner Zampa has taken two wickets for the Rising Pune Supergiant while Stoinis is yet to take a wicket for the Kings XI.

All-rounder Hastings’ return to cricket started well over the weekend as he scored a half-century and took a total of five wickets for the match for Worcestershire.

Speaking on the make-up of the squad National Selector Trevor Hohns said: “We have selected a very exciting well balanced squad that will give us plenty of options with both batting and bowling, depending on the conditions.

“We are in a very fortunate position at the moment with a large number of quality players available for selection, as such this was a very difficult team to choose and there have been some unlucky players on this occasion.” 

Those players that are in Australia will depart for England on 18 May with the remaining players in the IPL to join as their teams finish in the tournament.

 Australia’s 15-player squad

Steve Smith (C)
David Warner (vc)
Pat Cummins
Aaron Finch
John Hastings
Josh Hazlewood
Travis Head
Moises Henriques
Chris Lynn
Glenn Maxwell
James Pattinson
Mitchell Starc
Marcus Stoinis
Matthew Wade
Adam Zampa