Melbourne Stars League a Shining Success | Melbourne Stars - BBL
Cricket network logo

Melbourne Stars League a Shining Success

17 January 2019

The Melbourne Stars League is a tournament that gives cricket players from four cultural backgrounds the opportunity to experience the fun and excitement of Twenty20 cricket, while representing their country of origin.  

The Melbourne Stars hosted the six-week tournament, held in the City of Casey, as part of Cricket Victoria’s Harmony in Cricket Association. 

The association was established with the support of VicHealth who provided research, professional advice and funding that enabled the development of the program.

It was developed with the aim of creating safe, accessible, inclusive and equitable sport environments for all in the community.  It provides social cricket leagues with specific benefits such as insurance, ground allocation, MyCricket access, staff support and high-performance/junior pathway while allowing the leagues to continue to play their existing competitions.

There were four men’s teams in this year’s T20 tournament from India, Sri Lanka, Greece and Afghanistan with the final played between India and Sri Lanka on January 13. 

India batted first in the final, compiling a solid 150 from their 20 overs on the back of an outstanding half-century from Jaswinder Gill. Gill made 51 from only 34 balls, including three 4s and four 6s 

They then rolled through Sri Lanka, bowling them out for 96 with a standout performance from Vikramjeet Singh, who took 3 for 8 from his three overs. 

Indian captain Vinay Tripathi praised the tournament for its positive impact on the community,

“The initiative by the Melbourne Stars and Cricket Victoria is wonderful, it gives an opportunity to some hidden talent and a platform to showcase their skills” he said

“[it] is a huge success in my view and brought communities and fans together and connect them even further.”

There were also three women’s teams that competed in this year’s tournament. Representative sides from Sri Lanka, India and Nepal competed in a T10 format with the final being played on Saturday, December 15. 

Sri Lanka batted first and made 4/58 from their 10 overs, before Nepal chased them down without comfortably with 10 wickets in hand and 4 balls to spare.

Opener Sandamalie Perera compiled a dynamic 29 off 27 deliveries with able support from Gina Gill with 23 off 30 deliveries. 

Congratulations to all teams that participated in the tournament.