Stars’ Season Finishes with Final Loss | Melbourne Stars - BBL
Cricket network logo


Stars’ Season Finishes with Final Loss

28 November 2020

The Melbourne Stars’ WBBL|06 campaign has come to a close, finishing runners up to the Sydney Thunder in a seven-wicket loss at North Sydney Oval on Saturday night.

After electing to bat first, tight Thunder bowling made scoring difficult early for the Stars, as Elyse Villani and Mignon du Preez were both dismissed in the powerplay.

Captain Meg Lanning showed signs of her best, including a slog sweep over mid-wicket for six, but was caught behind in the seventh over with the Stars stumbling to 3/20.

Annabel Sutherland’s run-a-ball 20 included a long six back over the bowler’s head, but highlights were sparse as wickets continued to fall.

Katherine Brunt (22 not out) fought hard to ensure the Stars batted out the overs, finishing 9/86 after 20.

Brunt’s fight continued with the ball, claiming Tammy Beaumont LBW and finishing with admirable figures of 1/24.

Nat Sciver (0/17) minimised Thunder scoring early, while Alana King and Tess Flintoff took one wicket apiece.

But defending 86 would always prove a tough task, and the Thunder eventually took the WBBL|06 title with seven wickets to spare.

The Stars can hold their heads high despite the loss.

After failing to qualify for finals in the first five editions of the WBBL, the Stars lost just three games in 2020 and finished atop the standings before finals.

Lanning finished second among the league’s leading run-scorers, while du Preez (seventh) and Villani (eighth) showed their class across the tournament.

Nat Sciver was equal second among wicket-takers, while Alana King (16 wickets at an economy rate of 6.00) and Erin Osborne, who gave up just 5.72 runs per over, restricted opposition scoring.

The Stars will now look to regroup in search of going one better in WBBL|07.