Stars through to Grand Final! | Melbourne Stars - BBL
Cricket network logo


Stars through to Grand Final!

14 February 2019

The men in green have pulled off a stunning victory, beating the minor premiers in Hobart to book a spot in the BBL Grand Final!

The Game at a Glance

The Melbourne Stars could not have asked for a more perfect start to their finals campaign! After winning the bat flip and sending the Hurricanes in to bat, Daniel Worrall wasted no time searching for a wicket, sending Matthew Wade packing after scoring just 2 runs. 5 balls later, he struck again, this time clean bowling Caleb Jewell for 1, and leaving the Hurricanes on 2-5 after 2 overs. The competitions' leading run-scorer D’Arcy Short looked to steady the ship, but only made 35 before being caught by Seb Gotch in the deep. George Bailey and Ben McDermott did well to give the Hurricanes a decent total, but a string of late wickets restricted the minor premiers to 7-153.

It was a shaky start to the Stars’ batting innings; after an overthrow from Simon Milenko saw an extra four runs added to the scorecard, Ben Dunk was the first wicket to fall. Handscomb and Stoinis added a partnership of 41 runs before Stoinis was beaten by a Qais Ahmad delivery for 18. Nic Maddinson put his mark on the match with a quick-fire 18 off 9, smashing two consecutive sixes before he was caught off a top-edge looking for another. Peter Handscomb was the next batsman to go, given out LBW and leaving the Stars at 4-85. But Glenn Maxwell and Seb Gotch hunkered down and got the job done, Gotch sealing the victory with a 6 to see the Stars to a six wicket win! We're off to the BBL Grand Final!


With the Ball

The decision to send the Hurricanes into bat paid dividends for the Stars early, as the Hurricanes lost both Matthew Wade and Caleb Jewell in the second over. Matthew Wade managed only 2 runs, and Jewell scored even less, bowled for 1 by Daniel Worrall. Worrall went on to achieve the Stars best figures of 4-23 from his spell. Adam Zampa and Dwayne Bravo both contributed with a wicket each, Zampa taking the prized wicket of danger man D’Arcy Short for 35 runs. George Bailey and Ben McDermott kept the scoreboard ticking over in the middle overs, until Worrlal got another breakthrough to see Bailey return to the dug-out after being caught by Maxwell. Three more wickets fell quickly, and despite a run-out from Bravo to dismiss James Faulkner, the Hurricanes fought back well to post a target of 154 for the Stars to chase.


With the Bat

The Stars got lucky in the first over, an overthrow from Simon Milenko sent the ball rocketing to the boundary, gifting Ben Dunk an extra 4 runs. Unfortunately, the luck stopped there for Dunk, as he was caught behind off Jofra Archer’s first delivery of the night the very next over. Peter Handscomb and Marcus Stoinis looked settled at the crease until Stoinis was bamboozled by a Ahmad Qais delivery and subsequently bowled for 18. Nic Maddinson’s innings was pure firepower, smashing two sixes on his way to a handy 18 off 9 before he skied a Qais delivery and was caught by Clive Rose. Peter Handscomb managed 35 off 26 before he too fell victim to Qais’ spin, bringing Seb Gotch to the crease with the Stars needing 69 off the last 9 overs to win. Glenn Maxwell and Seb Gotch combined for a match-winning partnership of 72 runs to see the Stars to their first grand final since BBL|05.

Filed Under

Hobart Hurricanes Men

Melbourne Stars Men