Lanning and Beams named in final ICC Women's World Cup squad | Melbourne Stars - BBL
Cricket network logo


Lanning and Beams named in final ICC Women's World Cup squad

18 May 2017

Melbourne Stars duo Meg Lanning and Kristen Beams have been named in Australia's final squad ahead of the ICC Women's Cricket World Cup next month.

The original squad of 21 was finalised down to 15 today, and National Selector Shawn Flegler believes the team has what it takes to compete with the world's best.

“This is going to be one of the most tightly contested World Cups in recent times and we have chosen 15 players that we believe are capable of leading Australia to victory.

“This is an incredibly exciting time for this team, with the chance to stake their claim as one of the most successful sporting teams in Australian sport.”

Australia will begin their quest for a record seventh World Cup on June 26 against the West Indies at The County Ground, Taunton.

England, New Zealand, West Indies, India, South Africa, Pakistan and Sri Lanka will join Australia in the tournament with each side to face off against the other seven nations concluding with semi-finals at Bristol and Derby before the final at Lords on July 23.

Australia are the defending champions having won a record sixth World Cup in 2013 after defeating the West Indies by 114 runs in the final in India.

The squad is as follows:

 Name State
 Sarah Aley  NSW
 Kristen Beams  VIC
 Alex Blackwell  NSW
 Nicole Bolton  WA
 Ashleigh Gardner  NSW
 Rachael Haynes  NSW
 Alyssa Healy  NSW
 Jess Jonassen  QLD
 Meg Lanning  VIC
 Beth Mooney  QLD
 Ellyse Perry  NSW
 Megan Schutt  SA
 Belinda Vakarewa  NSW
 Elyse Villani  WA
 Amanda-Jade Wellington  SA

Australia's World Cup schedule:

June 26: Australia v West Indies, Taunton

June 29: Australia v Sri Lanka, Bristol

July 2: Australia v New Zealand, Bristol

July 5: Australia v Pakistan, Leicester

July 9: Australia v England, Bristol

July 12: Australia v India, Bristol

July 15: Australia v South Africa, Taunton

July 18: First semi-final, Bristol

July 20: Second semi-final, Derby

July 23: Final, Lord's