Handscomb inks new deal with Stars | Melbourne Stars - BBL
Cricket network logo


Handscomb inks new deal with Stars

25 October 2018

The Melbourne Stars has today confirmed Pete Handscomb has re-signed with the club for another two seasons.

A foundation Star, the deal will see Handscomb in Stars colours through to BBL|09.

Stars memberships now on sale 
Handscomb has played 30 matches in green and has 453 runs to his name, including his best knock, an unbeaten 103 against the Perth Scorchers in BBL|04.
On his re-signing, Handscomb said that he was excited to have put pen to paper and was looking forward to coming together as a group for the season ahead.
“I’m really happy to re-sign with the Stars. I have a lot of friends here and to get to play with the likes of Stoinis, Boland and Zampa again is something that excites me,” Handscomb said.  
“We’re a pretty close group and there are a few of us that have played together for the last three or four years, so we’ve gotten to know each other quite well both on and off the field.
“We also have some new faces at the Club and we’re really looking forward to welcoming them to the Stars family.”
Stars List Manager Trent Woodhill said securing Handscomb strengthens the team’s batting line-up.
“It was a major focus for us to lock in Pete along with Marcus Stoinis. These two guys along with Glenn Maxwell, Nic Maddinson and Ben Dunk will provide us with a strong batting spine that features an array of quality local batters,” Woodhill said.
“We think that Pete is someone who can dominate this tournament as seen by his century against the Scorchers and from the recent JLT Cup, we know that he is in good white ball form.
“We also know that Pete has strong leadership skills, he’s proven himself as a leader not just at the Stars but in his role as captain of Victoria.”
The Stars will open their BBL|08 campaign against the Sydney Thunder on December 21and will host their first home match on January 1 with a blockbuster New Year’s Day Derby at the MCG.
Melbourne Stars Squad to date
Michael Beer, Scott Boland, Jackson Coleman, Travis Dean, Ben Dunk, Seb Gotch, Sandeep Lamichhane (Nepal), Nic Maddinson, Glenn Maxwell, Matt Parkinson (England, *international replacement), Marcus Stoinis, Daniel Worrall, Adam Zampa